Flip It And Reverse It

“Is it worth it? Let me work it. I put my thing down flip it and reverse it” -Missy Elliott

I know that I have slowed down considerably with my posts. I am not sure why, but the inspiration to write is not hitting me with the same regularity as it did last month. Perhaps this is normal in the blogging world-a bit of a blogging slump after the initial push.

However, I have started another “energy experiment”, and it is getting me jazzed to write again.  Only this time I am using Joseph Murphy’s The Power of Your Subconscious Mind instead of Pam Grout’s work. In it he utilizes the notion of dualism between the conscious and subconscious minds to explain how one might take control of her circumstances and, in effect, manifest the well-being that she desires. Here he claims that the conscious, rational mind is the “captain of the ship” as it were. The subconscious mind, on the other hand, is not rational and is deeply impressionable. Whatever the conscious mind suggests, the subconscious will take as truth and thus manifest it into reality.

For this reason, Murphy claims we should utilize “autosuggestion” where we consciously, and with confidence and authority, suggest to our subconscious minds positivity, health and well-being. In doing so, we will train our subconsciouses to habitually believe in the truth of our autosuggestion, and our reality will begin to reflect this truth.

One way of doing this is to reverse all negative talk or thoughts throughout the day. This is not a mechanism that means to block out negativity, or refuses to acknowledge its existence. Instead, it recognizes the negative thought and then actively reverses it.

Man, I am such a sucker for these kinds of techniques-they are the reason I keep buying and reading this kind of literature. While I recognize that much of the path to spiritual enlightenment is paved with ambiguity, I can’t help but love the concrete nature of practices such as this one.

So, starting right now, I am going to consciously reverse any negative thoughts I have and record my experiences with this technique here.  In fact, as I have just thought to myself, “well this is a crappy post-clearly no one is going to read it”, I now have the perfect opportunity to practice my new trick.  I shall wave my my magic wand of positivity and Voila!

This post rocks and everyone in the whole world will read it and love it.  It’s so fantastic that it will go viral. It may even break WordPress with its intense awesomeness. It will contribute to world peace, solve the hunger crisis, reverse climate change… (Is it possible to go overboard with this positivity stuff?)

 

4 thoughts on “Flip It And Reverse It

  1. SHS breaks the Internet!

    I read a book awhile back on the neurological foundations of negativity and negative thoughts. We have evolved to have a negative mindset, because to expect that the worst will happen, and prepare for it, equals a better chance at survival. I’m sure this worked well for hunter gatherers preparing for droughts or what-have-you. But, it doesn’t really suit the purposes of First World, post-modern Homo sapiens. The neurologist’s suggestion was to reframe automatic negative thoughts, and act in spite of negative thoughts/emotions, in effect reversing our downward spiral into an uplifting positive one. (Actually, I think downward spiral was the name of the book…)
    Anyway, I love it when science proves the efficacy of what most religious teachers have said for thousands of years:)

    Not sure about the whole mechanics of the subconscious/conscious mind. But if it works, who cares, lol!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So does it work even if it’s a statement that you don’t believe and couldn’t really honestly believe? Like all those semi delusional positive affirmations you read about. A lot of LOA types recommend incremental steps from your negative belief to your most positive one, each one carefully constructed to be believable.
    It does all seem to be about ‘fooling’ your subconscious mind somehow, which makes me feel like I am being asked to be dishonest for personal gain, which I have a problem with. . . But I am likely coming at it from the wrong angle. .

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This is such a great question. I know that typically with LOA you must sincerely believe that that which you visualize is possible. Murphy seems to suggest this later in the book as well. But with this technique, you don’t necessarily have to believe it. In fact, I found myself giggling at some of the nutty things I was thinking. But, what it really does help with is getting into a positive frame of mind. In this mind set, it is much easier to receive those prayers that one sincerely wants and believes possible.

      Like

Leave a Reply

