Radical Openness and The State of Unknowing

“Do I contradict myself?  Very well, then I contradict myself, (I am large, I contain multitudes).”   -Walt Whitman

First of all I would like to apologize for being absent from my blog last weekend. I had some friends visiting from out of town and the days just got away from me. However dedicated I am to writing and responding to comments, I am also dedicated to enjoying my life in the moment. I was entirely immersed in the experience of enriching conversation, delicious food and drinks all weekend.

I also think it was good to take a step back from this blog for a few days in order to recalibrate before moving forward. The continuing purpose here is to read self-help literature, apply the ideas to my daily life, and then write about my experiences. I want to be an equal opportunist when it comes to psychological, spiritual and personal development theories.

This gets me to the most essential point of doing this work-to practice radical openness and responsiveness to ideas that I would not have entertained in my previous, more empirically or “rationally” minded days. I want to live comfortably in a state of unknowing while resisting the very human urge to fill the void and achieve certainty. Instead, I prefer to think of the unknowing, not as a void at all, but as a condition for potentiality and growth.

With that, I do not want to assume the role of teacher here, but the role of learner. Many bloggers/writers/thinkers feel the call to teach, and do so intentionally. This is a beautiful service to provide for the world if done so in earnest. But for me, I feel a deep desire to grow, not just through the readings that I do, but through the interactions I have with people in this community. For this reason, I encourage all contributions, as long as they are not hateful or disparaging of other people or their ideas. So please, think of this as a safe space for exploration of new (or more traditional) ways of knowing. I believe that we all have special, esoteric knowledge to share with others, just by virtue of our own unique situatedness in the world.

I started this project focusing on law of attraction theory because I am fascinated by it. I also thought it was appropriate to begin a blog about openness and learning using a more fringe, though commonly held set of ideas. I am committed to exploration, no matter how wacky and weird the concepts might seem. But, I also welcome the ideas of more traditional religions and spiritual practices as well. With that, I reserve the right to contradict myself, or change my point of view at any time, all in the service of radical openness and the state of unknowing.

4 thoughts on “Radical Openness and The State of Unknowing

  1. Ooh! I love this post, and I strive for the same openness, which means I maintain the right to decide I see things in a different light than I did previously. This way, our spiritual journeys remain very human journeys, and our ideas connect us to others rather than divide and isolate us from each other.
    I’m looking forward to reading about your future excursions into different spiritual avenues. I tend to be very skeptical in my own approach, yet cannot deny their perceived value for others.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We are all teachers AND students and often in the same moment. Beautiful. Forever changing, too as we eventually see all sides. As if each moment/view is anew. Just so much to remember. Thank you my Teacher and blessings! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

